What’s this?

Have you seen the “Nightmare before Christmas” movie from Tim Burton?

Yes, obviously I’m going to talk about Halloween in NYC.

Probably you want to know what becomes New York during the Halloween night: but let’s start from the beginning.

Weeks before all houses and stores start to decorate themself with all kind of pumpkin like the one shown above and all stuff about Halloween.
The week-end before there are so many parties: pub crawling and night dance most of all. They’re not free. And cheap neither. But who cares, it’s Halloween.

But the event is the night of.

The most important event is in Greenwich Village with its parade: the Village Halloween Parade.
It starts at 7 p.m. from Spring street and just goes to the 16th street on the 6 Ave.

If you’re an italian it can be explained like a big and dark Carnival. Music, Masks and so many people! It was so crowded: it came back after 2 hours and half and it was still coming people from the subway.

Every mask was flashed like a star

The idea is the same of Carnival, but once inside all that people you can feel like inside the Tim Burton movie on the top:

One peculiar scene, in my opinion, is the “Thriller” truck: hundred of zombies dancing the Micheal Jackson song, all together, during the night is a perfect scene for an Halloween Parade.

And when the Parade is over everybody to the pubs to get drunk all around the Village!
To be honest I missed this part because I was too tired…

P.S. Clicking on pictures, as usual, will open the Picasa Gallery.

P.P.S. I haven’t many pictures at this time: it was night and too many people around running everywhere to get nice picture with my lens. I need a new one… but I found this very nice site with a lot of picture of masks of the parade (lucky man who went from the beginning):

P.P.P.S. (How many P. still have sense?) – And if you still have pumpkin in your fridge because of Halloween try this recipe by MiaLeda.

3 thoughts on “What’s this?

  1. Onestamente, tutto il post non l´ho letto… non mi andava u.u
    Peró stasera Silvia mi ha detto che avevi un blog e quindi sono passata a scocciarti.
    Com´é la Big Apple? Bella si?
    Un giorno riusciró ad andarci anche io…. I hope. xD
    Ciao Cugino ❤

    • Come non t’andava?! E io allora che scrivo a fa? 😀
      Mi fa piacere del “commento”, anche se era per scocciare.
      Mi chiedi della grande Mela: beh, diciamo che si può riassumere con l’italiano vocabolo “zoo”. 😀 Trovi di tutto e di più, basta scavare un po’ qui e un po’ lì.
      E talvolta senza neanche scavare…

      Se dovessi venire un giorno, fammi sapere, magari mi trovi anche a me quel giorno. 🙂

      • Beh, tu lo scrivi per i tuoi followers, io sono tua cugina quindi alla fin fine commento tanto per u.u
        Comunque beh, mi ero ripromessa di mandarti un’ e.mail ma come al solito, non l’ho fatto.. c’è gente che attende mie notizie da quasi un anno ahah e probabilmente, continueranno ad aspettare.
        Deve essere veramente bella NY *-*
        Quando vinco alla lotteria, magari per i miei 60 anni tondi tondi ci faccio un giretto *-*

        Mi ha fatto piacere sentirti, mo dai in un futuro breve (probabilmente un paio di mesi ahah) commenterò di nuovo… u.u
        Ormai, scrivo più cavolate sul mio blog che alle persone ._.
        Ti salutano ovviamente mamma, papà e pure l’ex bagnino Mitch.
        Vado a farmi un giretto nel tuo blog u.u
        Un bacione!

Rispondi

